2024 Jury

  • Alyssa Fearon, Director/Curator at Dunlop Art Gallery, Regina, SK
  • Tarah Hoque, curator and writer, Saskatoon,  SK
  • Renée van der Avoird , Associate Curator Canadian Art, Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto, ON

Past Juries

2023 Jury

  • Musha Neluheni, artist and curator, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Tamara Toledo, curator, artist, writer, and PhD candidate, York University
  • Allison Yearwood, Executive Director, Plug-In ICA in Winnipeg, MB





2022 Jury

  • DARRYN DOULL, Curator, Kitchener Waterloo Art Gallery,
  • JAIMIE ISAAC, Chief Curator, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, and
  • BUSHRA JUNAID, Multidisciplinary Artist and Curator

2021 Jury

  • NICOLE CARUTH, Independent curator and cultural strategist,
  • SALLY FRATER, Curator of Contemporary Art, Art Gallery of Guelph, and
  • DENISE RYNER, Director/Curator, Or Gallery and Associate Curator, Haus der Kulturen der Welt, Berlin.

2020 Jury

  • DR JULIE CROOKS, Associate Curator of Photography, Art Gallery of Ontario,
  • SALLY FRATER, Curator of Contemporary Art, Art Gallery of Guelph, and
  • DR LISA VOLPE Associate Curator of Photography, Museum of Fine Arts,  Houston, TX.

2019 Jury

  • Michelle Jacques, Chief Curator at the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria
  • Al Miner, Founding Director/Chief Curator of the Georgetown University Art Galleries
  • Ryan Rice, Kanien’kehá:ka of Kahnawake, Associate Dean, Ontario College of Art and Design (OCAD) University

2018 Jury

  • Srimoyee Mitra, Director of Stamps Gallery, Stamps School of Art and Design (Ann Arbor, Michigan)
  • Lisa Steele, Artistic Director of VTape and Professor, University of Toronto John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape, and Design
  • Andrew Hunter, Senior Curator, Art Gallery of Guelph

2017 Jury

  • Nancy Campbell, Independent curator and writer on contemporary and Inuit art (Toronto)
  • Natasha Chaykowski, 2014 Middlebrook Prize Recipient (with Alison Cooley), Director, Untitled Art Society (Calgary)
  • Rhéanne Chartrand, Aboriginal Curatorial Resident, McMaster Museum of Art (Hamilton)

2016 Jury

  • Melissa Bennett, Curator of Contemporary Art, Art Galley of Hamilton
  • Robert Enright, Research Professor in Art Theory and Criticism, University of Guelph, and Senior Contributing Editor, Border Crossings
  • Alison Cooley, 2014 Middlebrook Prize Recipient (with Natasha Chaykowski)
  • Chair: Dawn Owen, Acting Director/Curator of Contemporary Art, Art Gallery of Guelph

2015 Jury

  • Katherine Dennis, Inaugural Middlebrook Prize Recipient (2013)
  • Dawn Owen, Acting Director/Curator, Art Gallery of Guelph
  • Jennifer Rudder, Associate Professor of Curatorial Studies, OCAD


2014 Jury

  • Chair: John Kissick, Director School of Fine Art & Music, University of Guelph
  • David Balzer, Canadian Art magazine
  • Erin Rutherford, Art Registration Consultant, Toronto
  • Mentor: Shirley Madill, Executive Director, Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery

2013 Jury

  • Chair: John Kissick, Director School of Fine Art & Music, University of Guelph
  • Joanne Harder, Artist, Elora Centre for the Arts
  • Ivan Jurakic, Curator, University of Waterloo Art Gallery
  • Crystal Mowry, Curator, Kitchener-Waterloo Art Gallery